Welcome to My House

Sunday Night Sketches

For the twelfth Sunday night sketch, I constructed a house to demonstrate my progress over the course of the semester. When deciding what to draw, I considered how I could utilize a whole image to demonstrate parts of my semester. After debating between a few ideas such as soup, a castle, and a cake, I decided to sketch a house. Each part in the house represents a piece of my semester. For example, the bricks signify the twelve Sunday night sketches I completed. As I completed each Sunday night sketch, I developed a new skill that translated towards a future piece. Thus, the sketches, like bricks, helped build my essays and projects throughout the course. The bricks allowed me to develop my first project: Tracing Maus. Since Tracing Maus required me to learn comics through tracing, I utilized my Sunday sketches to help me grasp key points of the assignment. Consequently, the I represented the Tracing Maus assignment by drawing a roof to demonstrate that it was the first project to fortify skills. As I drew the windows, I specifically drew three to signify the three parts of the literacy narratives I completed. Like windows, the audience can look through these pieces to see the progression of my narrative. After drawing the door, I recognized that it represented the Comparing Stitches and Spinning assignment because I learned how to write an inductive essay which opens the door to new writing possibilities. As an added touch, I drew blueprints to represent the Mapping Climate Change assignment because, like a blueprint, the assignment maps out key concepts. Finally, I attributed the chimney to my process of continuously revising my papers. Like a chimney, it takes fire to revise my mistakes. Overall, I enjoyed this creative piece and I think it was the perfect way to conclude the semester.

My house

Leave a comment